Our itinerary

The Map Hungary-Romania-Bulgaria-Turkey-Iran-Pakistan-India-Sri Lanka-Thailand-Myanmar (Burma)-Thailand-Cambodia-Vietnam-Laos-Thailand-Malaysia-Singapore-Malaysia-Brunei-Indonesia-Australia-New Zealand.

Where are we now?

From 25. December 2011 we are in Bang Tao, Phuket, Thailand for a few months. According to Google we've done 28350 kms so far.

We have been to these places

1 Jun
 
Biharkeresztes
3 Jun
 
Bucharest
4 Jun
 
Tulcea
6 Jun
 
Sfantu Gheorghe
9 Jun
 
Vama Veche
11 Jun
 
Burgas
14 Jun
 
Istanbul
19 Jun
 
Antalya
21 Jun
 
Kabak
24 Jun
 
Antalya
27 Jun
 
Olympos
28 Jun
 
Konya
1 Jul
 
Cappadocia
3 Jul
 
Sivas
4 Jul
 
Kars
6 Jul
 
Dogubayazit
7 Jul
 
Gevaş
8 Jul
 
Maku
9 Jul
 
Tabriz
13 Jul
 
Tehran
17 Jul
 
Esfahan
20 Jul
 
Shiraz
22 Jul
 
Yazd
24 Jul
 
Kerman & Kaluts
26 Jul
 
Baluchistan
28 Jul
 
Islamabad
30 Jul
 
Lahore
1 Aug
 
Amritsar
3 Aug
 
McLeod Ganj
7 Aug
 
Vashist (Manali)
13 Aug
 
Chandigarh
15 Aug
 
Dehra Dun
16 Aug
 
Vipassana course
26 Aug
 
Rishikesh
2 Sep
 
Delhi
7 Sep
 
Agra
10 Sep
 
Mumbai
12 Sep
 
Vagator
21 Sep
 
Palolem
18 Oct
 
Kovalam
25 Oct
 
Kochi
27 Oct
 
Bangalore
1 Nov
 
Chennai
2 Nov
 
Colombo
4 Nov
 
Hikkaduwa
12 Nov
 
Kandy
15 Nov
 
Colombo
18 Nov
 
Pattaya
22 Nov
 
Bangkok
23 Nov
 
Kanchanaburi
28 Nov
 
Bangkok
4 Dec
 
Yangon
7 Dec
 
Nyaung U
9 Dec
 
Nyaungshwe
12 Dec
 
Kalaw
15 Dec
 
Bangkok
20 Dec
 
Kamala
25 Dec
 
Bang Tao

Kitten Titties 2012

You can also see the more frequently updated Hungarian version.



We grabbed our backpacks and are heading to the East to see what's going on there.
Started on: 1 June 2011
Ends: Who knows?

Sponsors / partners

Why the East?

2011.05.24. 00:24 vdavid

I decided not to write one long post but several short ones of different topics. This is the second post.

So why the way I go?

Staring at the map for a while I realized that answering the question 'Where shall I travel from Hungary, cheap, let's say for a year?' is not that hard. Well, in the end I could find 3 answers which make sense:

  1. To the west until Spain, then to Morocco, down to Central Africa, and if you're crazy enough, all the way down to South Africa.
  2. Getting on the Transsiberia Express towards Ukraine and to Russia, through Siberia until Mongolia, meanwhile drop by in several ...istans, reach Korea, Japan, China and then some way back.
  3. The route we ended up with: Turkey, Iran, India, Thailand, and if you really want to keep on going, Malaysia, Indonesia, Australia and New Zealand. I really want to keep on going.
Here is a map which shows our planned route:
 

Our map(New Zealand didn't fit, the screen was too small.)

A little more into the details, now I plan the route as this:

  • We leave on Wednesday morning. We reach Transylvania in one day. Transylvania is beautiful so we might stay one or two days if we feel like.
  • Then we move on to Bucharest. I love Bucharest because it's big and there are many stray dogs. A couple of days there, or not.
  • From there we go to the seaside to Vama Veche, which is my favorite place in the world. I hope it hasn't changed much. Facing reality, probably it did change a lot, but people say we'd find something similar in Bulgaria instead.
  • If we feel like, we drop by the Danube delta, because it's close and beautiful in a different way than the beaches. And I was 16 when I was there the last (and only) time.
  • We take our time to go all the way on the Bulgarian beaches enjoying our freedom. We both agreed to visit some nudist and hippie places if we bump into any. I'd like that for nostalgia to Vama Veche, and also it's generally a cool thing :)
  • Istanbul, where I've never been, then all the way down by the Mediterrean coast of Turkey, almost to the Syrian border. We probably won't visit Syria this time.
  • Then to the eastern part of Turkey, about which I don't have much idea, I've never been there, but Judit has so she's going to navigate :)
  • In Iran I don't know what to expect apart from gays (http://danielfromhungary.blogspot.com/2010/06/gay-bisexual-province-qazvin.html :) but they say people are very hospitable and considering it's a country with a size of half of Europe, it'd probably worth spending even a year there. Of yes, time. We'd spend 3 weeks in Romania and Bulgaria, 1 month in Turkey and 1 month in Iran.
  • Then Pakistan, which I'm a bit afraid of, but I'll tell more about this later. We're just going to rush through it in one week. Our visas are only valid for one week, and also they expire at the end of August.
  • India, where we can stay until 11 November, according to our visas. If everything goes well, we will live with this opportunity so we plan to spend two months in the country. We want to go to Darjeeling to climb the Himalayas and to do some white water rafting. Also we plan to go to Delhi, Mumbai or anything, the way it turns out. To be honest, I have no idea about India. It's such a huge country that even if considering how different are the parts of Spain: Southern Spain from Catalunya, Galicia from the Basque Country etc. I can't even imagine how different could be one part of India from another.
  • As it is impossible to cross Myanmar (I'm not exaggregating, it IS impossible: political situation, visas etc. - see this page, especially the framed article 'Unfunny money', it takes 3 minutes to read: http://wikitravel.org/en/Myanmar#Buy), so we fly from India to Thailand. Judit flies back from Bangkok and I continue...
  • ... to Indonesia, where I'll learn diving and - having great plans - I'm even going to start teaching it. The whole course takes 3-4 months with practice. So let's say it's February when I'm finished with the course.
  • Then I move on to Australia to instruct diving for a few months.
  • When I'm done with that I'd go to New Zealand to pat the sheep whose wool my extraübercool pants are made of (which I got as a sponsoration from the Hungarian outdoors company called Mountex) and now being really happy I fly back home.

This is how pants are made from sheeps:

Sheep to boxer

Well, this is how the journey looks like in my head, but to tell the truth I won't at all be surprised if I end up in China, this is meant to be some loose thread to follow.

komment

Kommentek:

A hozzászólások a vonatkozó jogszabályok  értelmében felhasználói tartalomnak minősülnek, értük a szolgáltatás technikai  üzemeltetője semmilyen felelősséget nem vállal, azokat nem ellenőrzi. Kifogás esetén forduljon a blog szerkesztőjéhez. Részletek a  Felhasználási feltételekben és az adatvédelmi tájékoztatóban.

süti beállítások módosítása